ITIL – Design

ITIL – Design: turns the service strategy into a plan for delivering the business objectives and provides good-practice guidance on the design of IT services, processes, and other aspects of the service management effort.

  1. Architecture/Solution Design/Build
    1. Design also addresses how a planned service solution interacts with the larger business and technical environments, service management systems required to support the service, processes which interact with the service, technology, and architecture required to support the service, and the supply chain required to support the planned service. 
  2. Processes
    1. Design coordination
    2. Service catalogue management: maintains and produces the service catalogue and ensures that it contains accurate details, dependencies and interfaces of all services made available to customers. Service catalogue information includes:
      1. Ordering and requesting processes
      2. Prices 1.Deliverables
      3. Contact points
    3. Service-level management: provides for continual identification, monitoring and review of the levels of IT services specified in the service-level agreements (SLAs). Service-level management ensures that Operational Level Agreements (OLAs) are in place with internal IT support-providers
      1. Primary interface with the customer as opposed to the user
      2. Responsible for:
        1. Ensuring that the agreed IT services are delivered when and where they are supposed to be
        2. Liaising with availability management, capacity management, incident management and problem management to ensure that the required levels and quality of service are achieved within the resources agreed with financial management
        3. Ensuring that appropriate IT service continuity plans exist to support the business and its continuity requirements.
    4. Availability management: addresses the ability of an IT component to perform at an agreed level over a period of time.
      1. Reliability: Ability of an IT component to perform at an agreed level at described conditions.
      2. Maintainability: The ability of an IT component to remain in, or be restored to an operational state.
      3. Serviceability: The ability for an external supplier to maintain the availability of component or function under a third-party contract.
      4. Resilience: A measure of freedom from operational failure and a method of keeping services reliable. One popular method of resilience is redundancy.
      5. Security: A service may have associated data. Security refers to the confidentiality, integrity, and availability of that data. Availability gives a clear overview of the end-to-end availability of the system.
    5. Capacity management: supports the optimum and cost-effective provision of IT services by helping organizations match their IT resources to business demands.
      1. The high-level activities include:
        1. Application sizing
        2. Workload management
        3. Demand management
        4. Modelling
        5. Capacity planning
        6. Resource management
        7. Performance management
      2. Capacity management is focused on strategic capacity, including capacity of personnel (e.g., human resources, staffing and training), system capacity, and component (or tactical) capacity.
    6. IT service continuity management (ITSCM): covers the processes by which plans are put in place and managed to ensure that IT services can recover and continue even after a serious incident occurs. It is not just about reactive measures, but also about proactive measures – reducing the risk of a disaster in the first instance.
      1. Recovery of the IT Infrastructure used to deliver IT services
      2. Process of proactive business continuity planning (BCP) to ensure that the whole end-to-end business process can continue should a serious incident occur (at primary support level)
      3. ITSCM involves the following basic steps:
        1. Prioritizing the activities to be recovered by conducting a business impact analysis (BIA)
        2. Performing a risk assessment (aka risk analysis) for each of the IT services to identify the assets, threats, vulnerabilities and countermeasures for each service.
          1. Evaluating the options for recovery
          2. Producing the contingency plan
          3. Testing, reviewing, and revising the plan on a regular basis.
    7. Security management: describes the structured fitting of information security in the management organization. It is based on the code of practice for information security management system (ISMS) now known as ISO/IEC 27001. 1. Ensuring confidentiality, integrity and availability, along with related properties or goals such as authenticity, accountability, non-repudiation and reliability.
    8. Supplier management: oversees process of identification of business needs, evaluation of suppliers, establishing contracts, their categorization, management and termination.
  3. Areas of Responsibility- RACI Matrix
    1. RACI matrix (Responsible, Accountable, Consulted and Informed): describes the participation by various roles in completing tasks or deliverables for a project or business process.
      1. It is used for clarifying and defining roles and responsibilities in cross-functional or departmental projects and processes.